International CPE/CPD

The ACCME helped create the International Academy for CPD Accreditation, a network of colleagues, dedicated to promoting and enhancing continuing professional development (CPD) accreditation systems throughout the world. Established in 2013, the Academy serves as a platform that facilitates peer-to-peer support for leaders of CPD/CME accreditation systems and encourages networking, mentoring and interactions about common issues.
Substantial Equivalency
Our substantial equivalency framework facilitates recognition between continuing education accreditors and the ACCME. The framework defines substantial equivalency as a relationship between accreditors based on shared principles and values, while recognizing and accepting differences.
The ACCME recognizes six CME organizations outside the US as substantially equivalent to the ACCME’s accreditation system:
  • The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
  • The Committee on Accreditation of Continuing Medical Education (Canada)
  • The European Board for Accreditation in Cardiology
  • The Oman Medical Specialty Board as part of the Ministry of Health of the Sultanate of Oman
  • The Qatar Council for Health Practitioners
  • The Federation of the German Chambers of Physicians
International Accredited Providers
ACCME also accredits organizations outside the US. We have been pleased to welcome organizations from Canada, Korea, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Kingdom to our CME community.
International Academy for CPD Accreditation Adopts International Standards for Continuing Professional Development Systems for Medical Doctors and Teams
Global standards promote high-quality education that improves patient care and safety
The International Academy for Continuing Professional Development Accreditation (IACPDA) is pleased to announce the adoption of the Standards for Substantive Equivalency between CPD/CME Accreditation Systems. These are the first Standards to set international guidelines for the accreditation of continuing professional development (CPD) and continuing medical education (CME) of medical doctors and healthcare teams.
The Standards are designed to support improvements in patient care and patient safety by promoting high-quality continuing education for medical doctors and teams across borders. They will be used to determine substantive equivalency between accrediting bodies. Substantive equivalency assures stakeholders—including national authorities, regulatory bodies, doctors and teams, and the public—that accredited education meets consistent, rigorous standards for content validity, educational design, outcomes measures, and independence from commercial influence and bias.
The fields of medicine and science are advancing rapidly and becoming increasingly global. To best serve their patients and perform to the best of their abilities, doctors and teams need easily accessible, relevant, and effective education. Substantive equivalency allows doctors and teams access to accredited education that is recognized by various CPD and CME accreditation systems, reducing the burden of meeting multiple requirements and increasing flexibility, diversity, and choice in education.
The Standards were adopted unanimously by IACPDA members who participated in the Cologne Consensus Conference 2020. Evolving from an original set of substantive equivalency guidelines that have been used for more than two decades as a mechanism of peer review between accrediting bodies, the Standards reflect feedback from the international community of stakeholders.